[LIFE] A Bit Of A Plan

11 September 2024

I've been thinking recently about what I want to do for a career, and it has been overwhelming me a bit, over the last couple of days.

Then, I had a bit of a revelation...

I have a lot of creative hobbies, and until I thought about this I was trying to figure out which one I prefer most, and would just focus on that. But, I don't think my brain works like that. If, instead, I just decide which hobby will make me the most money most quickly, then I should focus now on making money from it, and then I can use that money to pay for courses/networking events/equipment, to allow me to better work on my other ones.

An example is I love acting, but it just feels like without professional acting training from a drama school, you won't be able to get good paid work. So what if I instead forget about that for now, try and start making money from DJing, and once I have enough, then consider a course. Obviously I will need a part-time job alongside for now, to ever hope to save up that kind of money, but I think it's a smart idea.

Smart, in that I am doing something I enjoy, meeting new people in the arts/entertainment industry, and obviously: earning money!

So what is my plan for now? I want to start making good habits. I have three (fairly easy) ones I want to start incorporating into my daily routine:

  1. Write a short micro-blog for this site every day.
  2. Spend 2 minutes a day sketching. 2 minutes is obviously a minimum, just to keep it achievable.
  3. Update this site and add a portfolio section.

With the last point, it may take a while, but I really want to add a portfolio section to the site, so I can show off projects I am working on, and any creative work I have done, whatever it is: music, art, 3D, graphic design, even programming.

But anyway, enough talking, its time for action! Let's see how I get on with it all.